This Wednesday, via its official Twitter account, the French cycling group Groupama-FDJ unveiled its selection of riders who will take part in the next Tour de France. A formation led by Thibaut Pinot and David Gaudu.

A selection without great surprise. This Wednesday, via his account Twitter official, the French cycling group Groupama-FDJ has published the names of the eight riders who will take part in the 2022 edition of the Tour de France, which will take place between Friday July 1 and Sunday July 24. In the headliners, we find two French climbers. On the one hand, Thibaut Pinot, absent during the last edition and who is therefore making his big comeback on the Grande Boucle. On the other, David Gaudu, who took eleventh place in the general classification of the Tour de France 2021. Two other French people will also be on the trip: Valentin Madouas (25), but also Olivier Le Gac (28), for which will be a great first since 2018. Alongside them, we find two riders for whom it will then be a first in the prestigious cycling race.

Küng well present

They are the Luxembourger Kevin Geniets (25 years old) as well as the Australian climber Michael Storer (25 years old). In addition to these riders, we will also find the Canadian Antoine Duchesne (30 years old), for whom it will be his second participation. Also note the presence of the Swiss Stefan Küng (28), third in the last edition of Paris-Roubaix, last April, but also fifth in the last Tour de Suisse, no later than last Sunday, and who will celebrate his sixth participation in the Tour de France. In the press release formalizing this selection, Marc Madiot, who is none other than the big boss of this tricolor formation, thus notably declared: “We have built our team since this winter by projecting ourselves on the course that we will meet for three weeks. Before thinking about the mountains, where we have assets, we must first get through the first week. »

The Groupama-FDJ team for the Tour de France
Antoine Duchesne (CAN), David Gaudu (FRA)Kevin Geniets (LUX), Stefan Küng (SUI), Olivier Le Gac (FRA), Valentin Madouas (FRA), Thibaut Pinot (FRA)Michael Storer (AUS).